2013 Resolutions

The new year is right around the corner.  I can’t believe that it is nearly 2013.  I still find myself accidentally writing 2011 on assignments or in my planner.

As is the custom with New Year’s Eve, I’ve been reflecting on the past year and have developed a few resolutions to hopefully help make 2013 the best year yet.

I am declaring 2013 the year of strategy.  I have lots of goals that I want to achieve, but I always get lost in what steps I need to take or where I need to go.  For each of my resolutions, I am developing a strategy for how to accomplish them and maintaining motivation to see the goal through to the end.

My first goal is to not only get back into running, but to train for and race in the Chicago Marathon in October of 2013.  As you already know, I ran cross country and track in college and always loved running long-distances.  I remember when I was a freshman in high school I was so driven to be the best that I would run around the block every day after school, even in the middle of February.  This was no small feat because we lived out in the country and a jaunt around the block would measure up to about 4 miles every time.  I had no idea about how to train back then and the longest race I would run was the 2-mile.  But after graduation I somehow fell out of practice and lost my love for the run.  It’s hard to maintain that passion without fifteen teammates always out on the trails with you, but I’m determined to get it back, even if I have to chase it down.  I start training tomorrow with a very short run and will continue training for a 5K, 10K, a half marathon, and the full marathon in October.  This is a big commitment, but I made a promise to myself  that I would complete my first marathon before I turned 26 and I’m getting too close for comfort.

My second goal is to focus more on my relationships.  That includes my relationship with C, my relationship with my family, and my relationship with my sorority sisters and friends from school.  I’m going to make a greater effort in 2013 to reach out, to enjoy company, and to truly appreciate the wonderful people that I do have in my life because they are so special to me.  I also want to make a bigger effort at reaching out to people in my program and at school.  If there’s one thing I’ve learned from moving to Ypsi and going to graduate school it is that it is incredibly difficult to make friends.  Every single person in this class or that project group has an incredible story and already has tons of friends from home who already know them.  So how do I propose to be someone’s friend?  Do I ask them out for coffee?  A beer after an evening class?  I’m determined to figure out the method and find some friends.

My third goal is to truly dig in deep and thrive in my classes this coming semester and next fall.  I didn’t do too bad grade-wise this semester, but I definitely know how I could have improved my grades.  I need to reach out to professors, ask questions, go to office hours, and be more organized and responsible.  I’m paying a lot of money to work with some pretty incredible people and I need to step out of my comfort zone and take advantage of the opportunities that I have.  I’m already working on this goal through applying to participate in my program’s Alternative Spring Break where I’ll (hopefully!) spend my spring break volunteering with an organization in New York City.

My fourth goal is for you, dear readers. I’m trying to create a better strategy for developing posts, timing of posts, and just further developing the blog.  I might dabble in Pinterest, do a better job on Twitter, or create a few more series.  Maybe I’ll ask for guest bloggers, post more photos, or get deep in my personal life.  Wherever I decide to go in the next year, I’m happy that you’re with me and that you’ve been with me.

Expect updates periodically on how my goals are going.  What are your resolutions for the new year?  How do you keep track of your progress?

Happy New Year!  Let’s make 2013 the best year yet!

XOXO

A

5 thoughts on “2013 Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Geek with Kids » Welcoming a new Year

  2. Pingback: 2013: The Year of Elle « Southern Girl in the City

  3. Pingback: Marathon Training | Equal Parts of a Whole

  4. Pingback: Stay in for safety’s sake. | Equal Parts of a Whole

  5. Pingback: Travel Tuesday: Anything But Mini Friendship | Equal Parts of a Whole

Leave a Reply

