…and it’s about time.

Hi there, Internet! It’s about time I got around to this.

My name is Alana and I’ve wanted to start a blog for years. I’ve had a pretty rough history with my blogs, though. Sure, I had a Xanga account back in junior high/high school, but that doesn’t really count.

I tried to blog again in my junior year of college when I studied abroad in Rome for a semester. I stuck with it for a while, but eventually life caught up with me and I decided I would rather go out and explore the city than stay inside and edit blog posts. My family back home was, of course, a bit disappointed, but I think my photos made up for it.

I once again tried to keep a blog during my senior year of college to track my thesis research. Again, the work got too hard and I finished my thesis without keeping my readers informed.

And now, here we are.

I am a 24 year-old, first year graduate student studying Library and Information Science. But more than this I am an occasional runner, coffee enthusiast, and an absolute nerd. I enjoy Apatow comedies, very old books, and baking. I’ve always thought that my interests are so varied that I elude being classified. If you name pretty much any subject, I can totally dig it.

My main motivation in starting this blog is the help me maintain some balance. In choosing the title ‘Equal Parts of a Whole’ I did a lot of thinking about where I am in my life. Starting grad school, living with the boyfriend (to be referred to as C), spending time with family, maintaining my sanity – there are a lot of separate parts to keep track of! But I never want to lose sight of the fact that all of these parts are equal parts to creating a whole life, a rich and full life.

You can expect to read about a wide range of topics – from current news, fashion, food, fitness, school, love, family, and much more.

I’m very much looking forward to this adventure!

XOXO

A

Leave a Reply

