If weekends are sandwiches, Saturdays are the meat.

Grand Ledge Opera House

Grand Ledge Opera House (Photo credit: joeldinda)

Ah, Saturday.  Another week done, another week on the way.

I’ve always thought that Saturdays are the most peaceful days.  College football is on and you’re still two days away from Monday.  If weekends were sandwiches, Saturday would be the meat.

This Saturday C and I are heading back West to visit my family.  My parents are part of this singing group, Singers on the Grand, and they’re having a concert tonight at a gorgeous location – the Grand Ledge Opera House.  I’m especially excited to hear my parents and Uncle sing a cover of “Black Muddy River”!

If there’s one thing I love about Grand Ledge, though, it’s the Opera House.  I’m obsessed with the building and I always have been.  It’s this old, mustard-yellow, restored opera house that sits right on the Grand River.  It’s totally beautiful and I have it on a list of possible locations for a very important day in my distant future.  But as obsessed as I am with the Opera House, I’m more obsessed with my family.

Sure, we fight and argue sometimes, but mostly we laugh.  We are a funny, nerdy, quirky, but wonderful group of people and I love every single minute that we get to spend together.  Whether we’re hanging around in the living room with all of the dogs watching a movie and talking, or out to dinner swapping stories, there is never a dull moment.  My Dad always has some new cheesy joke, or my Mom will run through a checklist of things I need to do.  Then my little brother, G, will show me some ridiculous photo that will make me laugh so hard I cry.  We’ve had a pretty rough year, as some of you might know, but we’re all together and that’s what is important right now.

I can’t wait to see all of these smiling faces tonight!

Nashville Opryland

I’m off to pack quickly and then hit the road!

What are your Saturday plans?

XOXO

A

Leave a Reply

