NaNoWriMo Update: Week One

So we’re just over a week in to NaNoWriMo and I’ll admit it – I’m procrastinating.

I just downloaded Angry Birds: Star Wars so clearly I have no intention of doing any work today.

But I have slowly been chipping away at my 50,000 words.  I currently stand at an awful 4,748 words so far.  At this rate, I’ve done an average of 527 words each day and I will finish on February 2nd, 2013.  This will not do.  According to my funky stats page I’ve got to do 2,057 words per day to finish up and I intend to do just that.

It’s not that I haven’t been writing because I don’t have anything to write about.  It’s quite the opposite, in fact!  I’ve got so many plot ideas and ridiculous details (I’m making one of my characters lutrophobic!  That means he’s terrified of otters!) floating around in my head that once I sit down I type until I feel like I’m out of breath and drowning in all the details.  It’s incredible  I’ve got this awesome story, but I can’t seem to get it out.  I basically need to just metaphorically stick my writer’s finger down my throat and vomit up the novel until it’s done.  Sure, it’s definitely not a pretty process, and all I’ll end up with is a pile of goo, but at least I can call that pile of vomit-goo my novel.

Apologies for the awful vomit-novel metaphor.  I clearly need more sleep.

So the goal for the weekend is to make it to 15,000 words at least.  I’ve got a lot to get done, so wish me luck!

Happy noveling and happy weekend!

XOXO

A

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update: Week One

  1. Pingback: Some NaNoWriMo Surprises | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer

  2. Pingback: Avoidance and Penalty | the daily creative writer

  3. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 9 | Side Quest Publications

  4. Pingback: My #NaNoWriMo in week two! | Zara ~ a writing story

  5. Pingback: Day 10 of NaNoWriMo | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  6. Pingback: Why I registered for and then gave up on NaNoWriMo « Syllable in the City

Leave a Reply

